Charlie Brown Cafe – Was Expecting a Lot More

Charlie Brown Cafe, Singapore

Charlie Brown Cafe, Singapore

A few days ago, I was returning home from a late evening meeting… tired and as usual hungry. Hey, I hadn’t had anything since lunch and it was really late. It was a beautiful evening weather-wise. The crazy all-day rains had left behind a cool breeze… perfect evening for outdoor meal, no Aircon. As I was walking to the Sommerset MRT, I spotted a café I had been meaning try for ages now… not because I had heard a lot about its food, but because the café is just so cute…

I know in the past I have called cafes comfortable, cozy, elegant, but cute is the only word that comes to mind when I talk about “Charlie Brown Café”.

Charlie Brown Cafe

Charlie Brown Cafe

The entire place is done up in Charlie Brown and Snoopy Dog décor.

Charlie Brown Cafe, Singapore

Charlie Brown Cafe, Singapore

Right from the ceilings…

Charlie Brown Cafe, Singapore

Charlie Brown Cafe, Singapore

To the walls and tables…

There’s Charlie and Snoopy everywhere…

Charlie Brown Cafe

Charlie Brown Cafe

They even have a small take away counter for crepes and pancakes.

I settled myself in a corner… not really knowing what to expect in terms of food. Browsing through the menu, I realized that for South East Asia’s self-claimed ‘No. 1’ Peanuts Comic Strip Themed Café, they had a decently elaborate menu. Their menu included all day breakfasts, sweet and savoury crepes and pancakes, American finger food, salads and soups, baked dishes, pizzas and pastas. They also have select sandwiches.

This is what I ordered:

Hawaiian Baked Rice @ Charlie Brown Cafe

Hawaiian Baked Rice @ Charlie Brown Cafe

[1] Hawaiian Baked Rice: One of the reasons I opted for the baked rice instead of a pasta or a pizza was the fact that the description looked really gourmet. Juicy chicken ragu and pineapple chunks with garlic parsley rice baked in mozzarella, the decription said. Yum, right? Well the dish just did not match up… the chicken was really few and very dry… I could barely taste the pineapple and the rice, other than the layer actually sticking to the cheese was really tasteless and dry. There was no salt and spices, if any, were non-descript. Well… this was really unexpected. Still, upbeat about the childlike décor, I let it pass… I am seriously hopeful it was a one time thing. You know bad day for the chef…

Peach Pancake @ Charlie Brown Cafe

Peach Pancake @ Charlie Brown Cafe

[2] Peach Pancake: I tried a pancake with the peach sauce… well thankfully the pancakes were quite nice… and the sauce was complementary… there was even nice  small Charlie Brown drawn out of a stencil on my pancake. By the time I washed down the pancakes, my initial irritation at the bad rice had reduced quite a bit.

Charlie Caffe Americano @ Charlie Brown Cafe

Charlie Caffe Americano @ Charlie Brown Cafe

[3] Charlie Caffe Americano: I washed down the meal with a strong black… the coffee was actually nothing great, but it wasn’t bad… quite like any decent black coffee you would find around the island. But it was strong and gave me the required refreshment on a cool evening. I liked their paper mug with the Charlie Brown drawings… nice touch…

How much will it cost me: The entire meal cost me around S$ 23++. Yeah, it is by no means cheap, especially after the non-so-descript meal.

Verdict: Basis what I tried, I cannot give it anything more than a just about okay rating. Their staff too somehow seems more involved in talking to each other… barely any smile or enthusiasm… This just does not go well with the theme of the place which is so childlike.

The dish I tried was not good, but their pancakes are good and I hear so are their crepes and pizza… unfortunately I got stuck with the wrong dish. Having said that, as I sat there for quite sometime, I saw how happy kids around me were, enthusiastically chomping on the sweet pancakes and crepes…

Charlie Brown Cafe, Singapore

Charlie Brown Cafe, Singapore

It definitely seems like a place kids will enjoy… Hmmm… when I entered the cutely designed café, I definitely expected more. I so rarely write negative reviews (usually if I do not enjoy a place, I just do not bother bringing it on the radar…) but the place is just so adorable, it’s a shame I didn’t get a good deal out of the food.

Rating: **

Website: http://www.charliebrowncafe.com.sg/

Address: 313@Somerset, Singapore

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Charlie Brown Cafe – Was Expecting a Lot More

  1. Chin Kin November 13, 2016 at 7:41 pm Reply

    Charlie Brown Cafe’s new website is http://www.charliebrowncafesg.com/

  2. andmorefood October 21, 2013 at 11:19 am Reply

    I think I’ve been to one of these a million years ago, and remember being underwhelmed too. pity about the food!

  3. Expat Dad SG October 19, 2013 at 10:28 am Reply

    Shame as it looks like somewhere the kids would enjoy.

  4. Disha Kapadia October 17, 2013 at 6:15 pm Reply

    Sounds like a real Charlie Brown moment on the food! :-/ I think the Charlie Brown garnished pancakes and the decor might just let me make one visit to this place…

    http://saltpeppernspice.blogspot.in/

Leave a Reply

