Veggie Cottage – A cozy Vegetarian / Vegan restaurant in Singapore

DSC_0358 - Copy

Ever since I was a kid, I hated, just hated large roads. The zooming traffic made me nervous. So I preferred by-lanes and smaller streets. Even today, I often look for alternate lanes to reach my destination, especially when I walk. During one such walk from Little India back home, I decided to skip the crazy crowded Serangoon Road, and took the Hastings by lane to reach the Sungei road bus stop…

That’s when I saw, hidden between small Indian grocery stores, a tiny beautiful café, almost camouflaged, lost in the otherwise very Indian setting! I had not seen this café before, maybe because most of the times, I am carrying heavy loads of grocery, or maybe because the café looked relatively new.

Veggie Cottage

Veggie Cottage

Situated on 13 Dalhousie road, just behind The Verge, Veggie Cottage is a beautifully decorated, cozy café, that surprise surprise, serves vegetarian & Vegan food. Intrigued, I decided to give it a try. So, late afternoon, on a Wednesday, I and a friend decided to try out this café started in April this year.

The first thing I noticed, when we entered the little café, was the friendly, affectionate smiles of the servers, who warmly welcomed us into the all-white café. It’s a sublime, peaceful feeling, as the ambiance of this café just engulfs you. It has a distinct feel of coffee shops located in the remote areas of Scotland.

Veggie Cottage

Veggie Cottage

It is a small place with 5 tables and 2 sofa arrangements, with the sofa’s looking so comfortable, that you can tuck your legs under you and settle in for a nice afternoon of reading, while sipping a beverage. There is a small children’s table as well, sprinkled with colour pencils and papers, to keep the kids busy. . . For the book lovers, there’s even is a bookshelf with some magazines, all in all a perfect place to spend quiet afternoon reading books or even studying!

The café has a small kitchen, set in such a way, that it reminds you of small home styled café’s. There is melodious old style European music played in the background, making the intimate little diner, cozier! The place is an all self-service place, with menu’s hand written on blackboards pinned to the walls. In fact there are small shelf’s where you can even leave your used dishes, after trashing the leftovers in the trash bag provided, which was quite distinctive I thought.

DSC_0341 - CopyMoving to the food (I am still so caught up in the ambiance), the all Vegan options are quite unique and well spread. Even though the menu is not that extensive, the choices are quite interesting. Just a caveat, the place is already getting its fair share of visitors, and their most popular items often run out by lunch time. Alright, this is what we tried.

Soy Milk Latte

[1] Drinks: Soy Milk Latte: The Soy milk latte was actually quite nicely made. I am no soy milk fan, and honestly I cannot stand the taste of plain soy milk… but the latte was actually yum. A perfect option for a vegan.

Basket of Fries

Basket of Fries

[2] Basket of fries (S$ 2): The well-seasoned, crispy fries, served in the cutest little basket you can think of. While the potion wasn’t very large, the price kind of compensated for it.

Samosas

Samosas

[3] Samosas (S$ 3.50): A nice plate of 6 medium sized samosas was what we tried next. From the taste of it, it looked like they were those ready to eat frozen veggie samosas you get at a Fairprice… however, the taste was quite nice, so no real complains there. And again, I was very taken by the little cane basket it was served in. Very tasteful.

Spring rolls & Curry Puff

Spring rolls & Curry Puff

[4] Spring roll & Curry Puff (S$ 1 each piece):The curry puff was actually very very tasty. It looked baked, as there was no real oil I could feel on my fingers. And if it was fried, I must say, nicely done. The spring rolls were good too. However, as my friend rightly pointed out, they were bland, with almost no salt. Now I am not a huge salt fan, so I was okay with it, but my friend didn’t enjoy it at all. But for the veggies who often say that they do not get good veggie spring roll option, this is a good choice. However, full thumbs up to the curry puff.

 

[5] Spaghetti Bolognese (with onions) (S$ 5.00): One of the great things about the way the menu is written, it tells you upfront, which dishes contain onions and garlic and which dishes can be made without the two acrid (as my Jain friends put it) ingredients.  Spaghetti Bolognese, made out of what I assumed is mock meat, is a dish that contains onion, but I have to tell you, it is one of the best mock meat Bolognese I have had! Finely minced, the sauce is extremely palatable, and a must try, especially veggies who have missed eating a good Bolognese due to their veggie preference, of course. Further, the potion is decently large… good enough for one person’s lunch or dinner main.

A couple of things I was very interested in trying, were sadly sold out. One was the Vegan Fish ‘n’ Chips, then there was the avocado dip and chips, and the Pumpkin Spread Toast. Hopefully will try it out the next time I visit.

How much will it cost me: A meal for two will cost you anywhere around S$ 10 to S$ 20… wherein you would have tried a variety of dishes. It is extremely affordable for the ambiance and quality of food it offers.

Verdict: Oh I would be visiting this place more often for sure, especially, when I have all vegetarian guests visiting from India, for here is a place that even a Jain can happily walk into and enjoy the delicacies, which are NOT Indian cuisine. What’s more, the staff is vegetarian, and understands vegan food quite well too. A hidden nugget, great location, endearing ambiance, fresh good quality food, extremely affordable prices and hey, loads of vegan options! Perhaps the only thing missing here is the availability of wifi… but hey… that’s just me wanting it all!

Rating: ***1/2

Address: 13 Dalhousie Road, Singapore

Timings: Tues – Sat 10.30am-8.45pm & Sun 10.30am-4pm. Closed on Mon

For reservations: +65-6785 6771

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Veggie Cottage – A cozy Vegetarian / Vegan restaurant in Singapore

  1. Disha Kapadia September 3, 2013 at 12:43 am Reply

    Lovely little cafe with such interesting food options for vegetarians! 🙂

    http://saltpeppernspice.blogspot.in/

  2. aishwarya August 27, 2013 at 1:55 pm Reply

    wow..my husband sure will love this !

  3. andmorefood August 27, 2013 at 9:54 am Reply

    such a great find!

    • Sonal Chinchwadkar August 27, 2013 at 9:55 am Reply

      Yeah, in fact that whole building has some amazing veggie options!

  4. Glenda August 23, 2013 at 11:51 pm Reply

    Do they deliver to California? LOL It looks tasty tasty!

  5. lordvito9 August 23, 2013 at 4:05 pm Reply

    That soy latte looks good!I cant wait to go back to Singapore!

    • Sonal Chinchwadkar August 24, 2013 at 11:54 am Reply

      I am sure it will still be there when you get back.

      • lordvito9 August 24, 2013 at 12:09 pm

        Lol I suppose. I miss Singapore!!

Leave a Reply

